Reach For The Stars Jewellery and Gifts Collection

The Moon is the Earth's closest planet and it moves very quickly, spending approximately 2 days in each sign and therefore taking just 28 days to complete one cycle through the Zodiac. The Moon touches us most deeply. As the Moon rules the tides, it also rules our emotions - mood swings, instincts and how you feel about things are all governed by the sign in which the Moon falls in your Birth Chart - and is commonly known as your Emotional Sign. The Tarot card associated with the Moon is The High Priestess.

The Moon's glyph - the crescent - is regarded by many astrologers as the container of life. In essence, it represents the fertile womb offering itself up to be impregnated by the Sun's seed. This union of male and female principles is the key to all physical life.

In your Birth Chart the Moon represents your instincts and intuition and how you relate to women, for example the Moon falling in a man's 7th house can indicate more than one wife. The Moon is a feminine energy, working most powerfully from Cancer and the 4th House of Home Life and Parents.

The Sign in which the Moon resided at the time of your birth shows how you react instinctively; how you respond to your surroundings; the way you seek security and protection; your sense of family; how you nurture and look for emotional sustenance. It will also indicate elements of your personality you inherited from your parents. Inherited characteristics may be resisted but they are still powerful - and understanding your emotional reactions can contribute to your psychological development. The House the Moon occupied at the time of your birth shows in what area of life you will find nurture; where you find sanctuary from life's difficulties; where you look for a sense of inner security; natural-born talents that are rarely remarked upon. The Moon's activities are strengthened by positive aspects from the Sun and your ruling planet, however the more aspects the Moon receives from other planets in your chart, the greater its prominence in the overall horoscope.



A Crescent moon is when the moon is less than half illuminated
A Gibbous moon is when the moon is more than half illuminated
A Waxing moon is growing or increasing in illumination
A Waning moon is shrinking or decreasing in illumination
A Quarter moon is actually when the moon is half illuminated

The moon's phases from left to right in the diagram below are therefore:
New : Waxing Crescent : 1st Quarter : Waxing Gibbous : Full : Waning Gibbous : 3rd Quarter : Waning Crescent
The Phases of the Moon © Astral Aspects
Image © Astral Aspects

January Full Moon = Wolf Moon
February Full Moon = Storm Moon
March Full Moon = Chaste Moon
April Full Moon = Seed Moon
May Full Moon = Hare Moon
June Full Moon = Dyad Moon
July Full Moon = Blessing Moon
August Full Moon = Corn Moon
September Full Moon = Harvest Moon
October Full Moon = Hunter's Moon or Blood Moon
November Full Moon = Birch Moon
December Full Moon = Oak Moon

We have all heard and possibly used the phrase 'once in a blue moon', meaning something that rarely happens, in fact Blue Moons - of one type or another - occur every year. But what is a Blue Moon?

There are 8 'types' of Blue Moon - depending on whether the Moon is full or new, and whether they occur in the same sign or month. One thing is constant with any type of Blue Moon - there must be two consecutive full or new Moons for them to be classed as blue.

The table below shows the types of Blue Moon.
Types of Blue Moon ©Astral Aspects

21 March 2019 - Aphetic Blue Moon (Full Moon in Libra)
19 April 2019 - Anaretic Blue Moon (Full Moon in Libra)
01 August 2019 - New Anteblue Moon (New Moon in Leo)
30 August 2019 - New Blue Moon (New Moon in Virgo)

Shop our Moon, Sun & Stars Jewellery Collection ... [see all]